Cheap healthy vegan lunch

In the last couple of years spiralizing has become increasingly popular in the ever growing eating clean trends. It’s become so popular now that even supermarkets have started stocking ready spiralized vegetables such as courgettes, or as as it’s know in it’s spiralized form ‘courgetti’.

Currently eating vegan, buying lunch out and around the office can be difficult if you want something quick and instant with little preparation.

After noticing in my Sainsbury’s Local a bag of pre made courgetti, I thought it be a great alternative to ready made pasta/rice which I am limited to because of the kitchen in my office only having a microwave.

I decided to pair it with another one my go-to budget staples….mushy peas. A great cheap source of protein.

So £1.50 later, and after a couple of minutes nuking in the microwave, the outcome was this…

FullSizeRender (1)

 

Going forward, I’m going to bring in my hand held spiralizer into the office and spiralize my own courgetti, which should bring this filling lunch time meal down to about 70p per portion.

Dietary notes

I would not recommend this meal to people on a FODMAP diet as mushy peas are not suitable, this meal however is gluten free and suitable for vegetarians/vegans.

Leave a comment